Translation: Di Wajahmu Kulihat Bulan

Perempuan Melayu Terakhir (The Last Malay Woman) movie poster

Perempuan Melayu Terakhir (The Last Malay Woman) movie poster

Maman rearranged and sang this as the title track to OST of the movie Perempuan Melayu Terakhir.  He once said to me that he sang it without  thinking too much about it, he kind of  just let the song flowed naturally. I think it is one of his best vocalisations.

Di Wajahmu Kulihat Bulan
I See the Moonlight in Your Face

I see the moonlight in your face
Peeking from the corner of your brow
Do you realize that you are being gazed upon
By us that thirst for your gentle caress

I see the moonlight in your face
shining down on me to light my dark and agonized heart
Please allow me to seek shelter
Under the beautiful serenity of your splendour

Seems so near and so close within my grasp
My heart would reach out to touch you
Had I been in the clouds

(but) I see the moonlight in your face
Hiding behind a smile
Don’t leave me here all alone
I am waiting for you

IA’s Notes: This is a very difficult transliteration and I hardly do it any justice. The Bahasa Malaysia version was written in a delicately intricate manner in what we term as Bahasa Klasik (classical language) where poetic licence applies.  The literal translation of the title is “I see the moon in your face”, which doesn’t sound quite right in English to I liberally changed it to moonlight. The moon carries a beautiful symbolic meaning in the Malay language and culture – beauty,  grace, serenity and perhaps, more importantly especially in the context of this song, inaccessibility and loneliness  i.e. something that is way beyond the grasp of mere mortals.

Di Wajahmu Kulihat Bulan

Di wajahmu kulihat bulan
Yang mengintai di sudut kerlingan
Sadarkah tuan kau ditatap insan
Yang haus akan belaian

Di wajahmu kulihat bulan
Menerangi hati gelap rawan
Biarlah daku mencari naungan
Di wajah damai rupawan

Serasa tiada jauh dan mudah digapai tangan
Ingin hati menjangkau kiranya tinggi di awan

Di wajahmu kulihat bulan
Bersembunyi di balik senyuman
Jangan biarkan ku tiada berkawan
Hamba menanti kan tuan

See and listen to the the song here on metacafe in its original version by Sam Saimun.

The video below is an instrumental live version by Jari, performed at the Keroncong Royal Concert in 2007

1 Comment

Filed under Translation & Lyrics, Video & MP3

One response to “Translation: Di Wajahmu Kulihat Bulan

  1. I don’t know why this song has been in my psyche for quite sometimes now.

Leave a Reply

