Translation: Kaulah Jiwaku

The video is a live version of Kaulah Jiwaku  taken in a rooftop concert about 10 years ago.

Kaulah Jiwa Ku
You’re My Soul

If the bridge that I have to cross
Is only as wide as a strand of your hair
I’d cross it
As long as I could
Be in your loving embrace, my love

If the bridge that I have to cross
Is as frail as the rainbow
I’d cross it
As long as I could
Salve the pain of missing you that envelopes my heart
Because without you
I am just an empty shell
Petrified and listless
I am just an empty shell
Because you’re my soul

The world and everything in it
I will give them up
As long as I could
See the twinkle in your eyes once again

All my heart and soul
I will give them up
As long as you could
Be here in my arms, always

IA’s Notes: I have never paid much attention to this song simply because I don’t  have the Di Suatu Hari Di Suatu Waktu album and the video version that I have is grainy and pitchy. But while doing the transliteration I am taken aback by its simplicity and depth. The Bahasa Malaysia version of the lyric is very moving and I hope I’m able to convey some of that feelings in the translated lyrics.

Kaulah (Jiwa Ku)

Titian sehalus rambutmu
Sanggup ku lintasi
Asalkan ku bisa
Mengecapi dakapan asmaramu sayang

Jambatan serapuh pelangi
Akan ku seberangi
Asalkan ku bisa
Mengubati perasaan rindu yang mencengkam
Kerana tanpamu
Aku bagai patung
Kaku tidak bermaya
Aku bagai patung
Kerana kau(lah) jiwaku

Dunia bersama isinya
Relaku pertaruhkan
Asalkan ku bisa
Menjamahi sekali kerdipan bersamamu

Seluruh jiwa dan ragaku
Akan ku pertaruhkan
Asalkan kau bisa
Menjelma dalam pelukanku selalu

Leave a comment

Filed under Translation & Lyrics, Video & MP3

Leave a Reply

