Stories: One Night At The Beach

I found this online and thought it’s a nice post to share.

From Adilzblade Spaces Live:

Last night I borrowed a VCR player to play a CCTV tape. Remembered about this video tape I kept for years in my closet of a trip I had with the first company I worked with back in 1996. Never had a chance to watch before. What a pleasant surprise to see Maman of the band Teachers Pet in the video.

The 3 days 2 nites company trip was held at this beach resort at Kuala Terengganu.  The first nite, we had a karaoke contest. Since I brought along my acoustic guitar, I decided to play the guitar. Maman happened to pass buy the beach and he stopped to watch the karaoke contest. If I can recall it correctly, Maman was there to watch jet-ski race tournament held at the same stretch of beach. So after the karaoke contest ended, he and his friends approached  me. He said he didn’t have the chance to play guitar for days, and asked if me if I can let him play my guitar for awhile. Whoaaa!!! Why wouldn’t I let him. So we sat there, chit chatting while he play the guitar and I asked him if he can do me a favour. Join my company dinner the following nite and maybe do a short performance.

So that’s what he did. He came the following nite, joined us for the company dinner and made a performance. He sang 2 songs, the first was 4 Non Blondes – What’s Going On and then, Sering Kali from his album. And after that, he signed his autograph on my guitar. The autograph is still on my guitar, though it had faded a bit over the 11 years.

Leave a comment

Filed under Stories

Leave a Reply

